UEFA nominates nine Dutch nationals for Team of the Year

Nine national team members have been nominated for a place in the UEFA European Football Association's Team of the Year. They are footballers and football players who are active for a European club team.

The men are Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus), Stefan de Vrij (Internazionale), Hans Hateboer (Atalanta Bergamo) and Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool). Among the women Vivianne Miedema, Jill Roord, Daniƫlle van de Donk (all three Arsenal), Dominique Janssen (VfL Wolfsburg) and Sari van Veenendaal (PSV) have a chance to win an election.

In total there are 50 nominees for men and women.

The nominees were first chosen by a UEFA panel, now it's up to the fans to decide who will eventually be on the team. This can be done until January on the UEFA website.

Before last year, the Netherlands was already purveyor to the Dutch national team of the year. De Ligt and Van Dijk were then elected, just like Frenkie de Jong.


Read the entire article »



Most read transfernews